September 27, 2017

27 Sep

September 27, 2017

Moon at Apogee

6:51 am UT; 1:51 am EST; 12:51 am CST. Occurs previous day: 11:51 pm MST; 10:51 pm PST

FIRST QUARTER MOON

9:54 pm EST; 8:54 pm CST; 7:54 pm MST; 6:54 pm PST. Occurs following day: 2:54 am UT

Moon’s age: 7 days 11 hours (at noon EST)

Fraction of the Moon illuminated: 42 percent (midnight EST) 46 percent (noon EST)

On this day in 1889, the first skyscraper in New York City to use modern metal beams to support all the floors opened at 50 Broadway. Thirteen stories high, the architect took advantage of a hurricane to convince a skeptical public that the structure was safe. The building was demolished in 1926 and a 50-story skyscraper is currently located at the same address.

On this day in 1923, New York Yankee Lou Gehrig hit his first major league home run in a game against the Boson Red Sox, played at Fenway Park. The Red Sox pitcher was Bill Percy; the Yankees won 8-3. On the same day in September in 1938, Gehrig hit his last home run — his 493rd — in a Yankee’s win over Washington.

DEFINITIONS

Times. Time of day is indicated as UT (Universal Time), EST (Eastern Standard Time), CST (Central Standard Time), MST (Mountain Standard Time), and PST (Pacific Standard Time). To figure Daylight Saving Time when in effect locally, subtract one hour from the time indicated for a U.S. time zone. Because of the time difference between UT and North America, at the time of a full moon or other moon phase, the date may fall a day earlier in the United States (indicated when this occurs).

Fraction of the Moon illuminated. The percentage of the front (visible) side of the moon that is lit by sunlight, with 0 percent indicating a new moon (not visible) and 100 percent indicating a full moon (no shadow visible); quarter moons are 50 percent illuminated. Below 5 percent illumination, when the lit portion is a slim crescent (on the left side for a waning moon – “old crescent moon” and on the right side for a waxing moon – “new crescent moon”) it may not be visible in most locations. The percentage is computed by the Astronomical Applications Department/U.S. Naval Observatory. In the course of a 24 hour period, the percentage will either increase or decrease at a varying rate depending on the phase, with the slowest visible change occurring around the time of the full moon and the fastest visible change occurring around the time of the new moon. This is due to the effect of light from the sun illuminating the spherical surface of the Moon.

Moon’s age. One complete lunation (a complete cycle from one new moon to the next new moon) occurs in an average of 29.5 days. The “moon’s age” is the number of calendar days from the time of the new moon, shown here with the number of hours depicted as a rounded number. The figure listed is for noon, EST.

©  Copyright 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 Kim Long.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: